Dances with Words

The Eighth Day

18635086So glad I stopped by Dianne Salerni’s booth at the Collingswood Book Fair last Saturday. I wasn’t sure that I’d be buying a copy of her book, The Eighth Day, when I picked it up, but I found the title intriguing. Who wouldn’t want an eighth day?? Fortunately, although she said hello as all of the authors there do, she waited to talk to me until I’d read the opening page. I was really glad about that, because I found the writing so good on that first page that she didn’t have to sell me at all–I was hooked. The Eighth Day is a cross between adventure and fantasy, and calls on the legends of King Arthur. Readers familiar with the principles of honor and democracy of the Knights of the Round Table, and the powerful magician Merlin will particularly enjoy the adventure, but nearly all readers will connect to the characters as 13-year-old Jax adjusts to life with his less-than-adequate guardian Riley following the death of Jax’s father. What he doesn’t know is that Riley is much more than he seems, and that Jax himself has much more power than he ever knew he had. There are a couple places where the bad guys blur a bit, and I found myself needing to re-read to keep the characters straight, but the story of Jax, Riley, and the mysterious Evangeline, kept me hooked. I finished The Eighth Day in record time, and am now eagerly awaiting the sequel, The Inquisitor’s Mark, due out the author said, in January.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2014 by .

Navigation

Categories

teachergirlblog

A young teacher comments on the world around her.

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers